Page 198 of 247 FirstFirst ... 98148188196197198199200208 ... LastLast
Results 1,971 to 1,980 of 2461

Thread: 7XXX speculation thread.

  1. #1971
    Quote Originally Posted by Guild View Post
    http://vr-zone.com/articles/more-amd...res/14193.html

    Any guesses for size? I am going to go with 350 mm2. Hopefully someone can do those photoshop guesstimates soon...
    Isn't 1.5GB memory a step backwards from Cayman especially for a 499 to 549 price point versus Cayman's 2GB for the market it is aiming for? I naturally assumed it would be 3GB for the bandied about pricing.
    What you talkin bout Willis?

  2. #1972
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
    Posts
    3,455
    Quote Originally Posted by APU_Fusion View Post
    Isn't 1.5GB memory a step backwards from Cayman especially for a 499 to 549 price point versus Cayman's 2GB for the market it is aiming for? I naturally assumed it would be 3GB for the bandied about pricing.
    Of course, but I dare say there would exist value products with half the memory.
    But isn't 7950 supposed to be with 320-bit MI? Can a 320-bit MI come with 1536 MB GDDR5?
    That is really confusing.

    GTX 580 comes with 1536 MB too, doesn't it? Then, if this card is slightly faster (upto 20% faster), then it might not need more memory.

  3. #1973
    Quote Originally Posted by APU_Fusion View Post
    Isn't 1.5GB memory a step backwards from Cayman especially for a 499 to 549 price point versus Cayman's 2GB for the market it is aiming for? I naturally assumed it would be 3GB for the bandied about pricing.
    Doesn't GCN employ a type of virtual memory/texturing at a hardware level? Would that not mean it wouldn't need as much physical memory to itself?

  4. #1974
    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgiD View Post
    Of course, but I dare say there would exist value products with half the memory.
    But isn't 7950 supposed to be with 320-bit MI? Can a 320-bit MI come with 1536 MB GDDR5?
    That is really confusing.

    GTX 580 comes with 1536 MB too, doesn't it? Then, if this card is slightly faster (upto 20% faster), then it might not need more memory.
    What does the 7970 and superior Eyefinity have to do with the GTX580? I remember seeing Hardocp and other reviews that showed the 580 with less memory sometimes having issues. With Eyefinity (which this card is marketing) it seems like 3GB is a natural.

    320-bit memory interface? I thought it was a 384-bit one. Love the speculation!
    What you talkin bout Willis?

  5. #1975
    Quote Originally Posted by fatty2nd View Post
    Doesn't GCN employ a type of virtual memory/texturing at a hardware level? Would that not mean it wouldn't need as much physical memory to itself?
    How would that work?
    What you talkin bout Willis?

  6. #1976
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4,228
    Cayman also uses memory as a buffer for tesellation.

  7. #1977
    Quote Originally Posted by APU_Fusion View Post
    How would that work?
    You tell me..... http://www.brightsideofnews.com/Data...Memory_689.jpg

    Source: http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news...itectures.aspx

  8. #1978
    >intel 4004
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11,281
    The heatsink support structure on the GPU is very interesting...
    Compare with:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A...images/gpu.jpg
    Radeon HD 5870 GPU (Cypress)

    http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5292/...0d393e7fbf.jpg
    Radeon HD 6970 GPU (Cayman)

    Looks like Tahiti is actually smaller than Cypress.

  9. #1979
    >intel 4004
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11,281
    Quote Originally Posted by APU_Fusion View Post
    Isn't 1.5GB memory a step backwards from Cayman especially for a 499 to 549 price point versus Cayman's 2GB for the market it is aiming for? I naturally assumed it would be 3GB for the bandied about pricing.
    I am sure something will help reducing the need for a larger framebuffer...
    That could be something related to FBC...

  10. #1980
    I hope you know I wasn't being sarcastic. I was thinking of how much slower system ram is and how it would impact gaming (not compute)
    What you talkin bout Willis?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux